Skip to content

Laetare Sunday

March 26, 2017

JMJ

Blessed Laetare Sunday!

You can read more about “Laetare Sunday” here.

Today is also known as “Mothering Sunday,”
since today’s antiphon begins “Rejoice, Jerusalem!”,
and the Church (represented by Jerusalem) is our Mother.
This became a day to honor mothers, giving them flowers (roses?!)
and a cake and asking for their blessing–
the original, Christian, Mother’s Day.

Readings:
I Samuel 16:1, 6-7, 10-13 (God looks on the heart)
Psalm 23 “The Lord is my Shepherd, there is nothing I shall want”
Ephesians 5:8-14 (You have come from darkness to light. Act like it!)
+John 9:1-41 (Jesus heals the man born blind)

I’m blind
but think
that I can see.

I misperceive
Reality,
mistaking wrong
for right.
(Oh 20-20 hindsight…)

There’s nothing
God can do for me
but help me
learn humility
(that humus on my eyes)
until
I recognize
my plight,
go where I’m sent,
and trust
His light.

At last!
the blinding smoke
of hell
is blown away
and all is bright.

Am I satisfied with seeing as men see?
Do I let God show me my heart?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

