Skip to content

Third Sunday of Lent

March 19, 2017

JMJ

Blessed little Easter!

Readings:
Exodus 17:3-7 (thirsty Israelites agitate against God)
Psalm 95: 1-2, 6-9 “If today you hear His voice, harden not your hearts”
Romans 5:1-2, 5-8 (the love of God has been poured out into our hearts)
+John 4:5-42 (the Samaritan woman at the well)

womanatthewell

The burning thirst
within my soul
drove me
back to the well
that could not satisfy.

Dead water
deadened me

until a stranger
asked a drink
of me,
and prompted me
to ask
for something more
than I had ever dreamed
could be
for me.

The love of God
poured into me,
became a spring
that welleth free!

My burning thirst
was quenched–
and so was His.

My deepest thirst
for God
could never match
His thirst
for me.

At what well do I attempt to satisfy the thirst of my soul?
How has God met me there?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

