Skip to content

Friday After Ash Wednesday, St. Katharine Drexel

March 3, 2017

JMJ

Blessed St. Katharine Drexel’s Day!

You can find her story here.

There’s a prayer that has special significance for Fridays of Lent.
Praying this before a crucifix on a Lenten Friday
(with the usual conditions of Holy Communion the same day,
Sacramental Confession within 40 days,
prayers for the pope’s intentions–at least an “Our Father” and “Hail Mary”–
and no attachment to sin),
makes one eligible for a plenary indulgence
(i.e., to have the Church open Her treasury of graces
to repair the damage your sins have caused, sins already forgiven in Confession,
that you would otherwise cover in Purgatory):

Look down upon me, good and gentle Jesus,
while before Your Face I humbly kneel;
and with burning soul, pray and beseech You to fix deep in my heart
lively sentiments of Faith, Hope and Charity,
true contrition for all my sins and a firm purpose of amendment;
while I contemplate with great love and tender pity Your five wounds,
calling to mind the words which David, Your prophet, said of You, my Jesus:
“They have pierced My hands and My feet, they have numbered all My bones!”
Amen.

Readings:
Isaiah 58:1-9 (fasting is supposed to make us generous)
Psalm 51: 3-6, 18-19 “A broken, humbled heart, O God, You will not scorn”
+Matthew 9:14-15 (there is a time to fast)

Why doesn’t God respond?!

I pulled the strings,
threw Him a bone,
I want my way!

The Lord cries out,
full-throated
and unsparingly,
(I will not hear it
any other way),
“Conversion
isn’t skipping meals
or changing clothes
while you insist upon
your way
at the expense
of those around you.

If you care for them,
I will take care of you.”

Do I trust God to take care of my needs better than I can?
How aware am I of the impact that my choices have on those around me?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

