Skip to content

Ash Wednesday

March 1, 2017

JMJ

Blessed Ash Wednesday!

Readings:
Joel 2: 12-18 (God is merciful when we repent)
Psalm 51:3-17 “Be merciful, O Lord, for we have sinned”
2 Corinthians 5:20-6:2 (We beg you: be reconciled to God!)
+Matthew 6:1-6, 16-18 (Our prayer, fasting and almsgiving are to be done
in a spirit of conversion, not for show)

I don’t know when
the snowdrops bloomed.

snowdrops

There was no flashy fanfare
to announce their slow emergence
from the darkness of the earth.

I just noticed that the snow was gone
–and checked–
and there they were!

True growth of soul,
and flowers
that develop into fruits,
are like those shoots,
emerging
silently
and over time
as I respond
with faithfulness
to graces
shining on my soul
and calling me
to rise.

How patient am I with the growth of my own soul and the souls of others?
Do I try to substitute impressive external actions for lasting change of heart?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

