Skip to content

Sunday, first week of Advent

November 29, 2015

JMJ

Blessed New Year!

And Blessed “Stir up Sunday!”
This is a good day to “stir up” a plum pudding or fruitcake to age for Christmas.
Let each family member give it a good stir,
symbolizing the need to stir up our hearts
to prepare a celebration worthy of the coming of so great a King.

Readings:
Jeremiah 33:14-16 (the Lord will raise up a just shoot for David)
Psalm 25:4-5, 8-10, 14 “To You, O Lord, I lift my soul”
I Thessalonians 3:12-4:2 (may God strengthen you to make even greater progress)
+ Luke 21:25-28, 34-36 (be on the watch for the last day)

The King who comes
with justice
must condemn
the evil
that He finds in me.

The cleverness
with which I cloak
my failings
from myself
won’t blind
His penetrating eye.

He knows.

And only He
can save me
from myself.

If I set aside my excuses and take an honest look at myself, what would justice need to condemn?

Good God,
I can only stand secure before Your Justice

when I am truly pure.
O purify my soul!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

