Skip to content

Saturday, second week of Lent (Sts. Perpetua & Felicity)

March 7, 2015

JMJ

Blessed Sts. Perpetua & Felicity’s Day!

You can find their story here.

Entrance Antiphon:
The souls of the saints are rejoicing in Heaven,
the Saints who followed the footsteps of Christ,
and since for love of Him they shed their blood,
they now exult with Christ for ever.

Collect:
O God, at the urging of whose love
the Martyrs Saints Perpetua and Felicity
defied their persecutors and overcame the torment of death,
grant, we ask, by their prayers, that we may ever grow in Your love.
Through our Lord Jesus Christ, Your Son,
who lives and reigns with You in the unity of the Holy Spirit,
one God, forever and ever. Amen.

Readings:
Romans 8:31-39 (we conquer overwhelmingly through Him who loves us)
Psalm 124:2-5, 7-8 “Our help is in the Name of the Lord”
+Matthew 10:34-39 (those closest to us will oppose us because of Jesus)

I can expect
the ones I love
to be among
the powers
that are pulling me
from God.

They may accuse,
condemn,
and persecute,
deprive me of my home,
my food,
my clothing,
even kill me,
in their desperate attempt
to have their way.

But I’m victorious
even here
as long as I adhere
to Christ
and suffer everything
with confidence
in Him.

The martyrs know
that this is so.

For neither death
nor life
nor human love,
nor threatenings,
or pleadings
conquered them.

They stayed the course.

Who takes top priority in my life?
Do I allow those I love on earth to separate me from the love of Christ?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

