Skip to content

Monday, second week of Lent

March 2, 2015

JMJ

Blessed St. Patrick’s Day!

We’re a little more than one-quarter of the way through our Lenten retreat.
How’s it going?

Entrance Antiphon:
Redeem me, O Lord, and have mercy on me.
My foot stands on level ground;
I will bless the Lord in the assembly.

Collect:
O God who have taught us
to chasten our bodies
for the healing of our souls,
enable us, we pray,
to abstain from all sins,
and strengthen our hearts
to carry out Your loving commands.
Through our Lord Jesus Christ, Your Son,
who lives and reigns with You in the unity of the Holy Spirit,
one God, forever and ever. Amen.

Readings:
Daniel 9:4-10 (Daniel confesses his people’s sin and begs forgiveness)
Psalm 79:8-13 “Lord, do not deal with us as our sins deserve”
+Luke 6:36-38 (as you give and forgive, so shall you receive and be forgiven)

When I enlarge my heart
to have compassion
on my foe
then it can hold
much more
that comes from God.

His gifts come down
good measure,
packed together,
shaken down,
and overflowing.

But they cannot get in
a heart shut tight.

every sin is more hurtful to the sinner
than to the sinned against.
~St. Augustine

Does my heart overflow the way God’s does?
Do I expect God to forgive me even though I refuse to forgive others?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

