Skip to content

Monday, first week of Lent (St. Polycarp)

February 23, 2015

JMJ

Blessed St. Polycarp’s Day!
StPolycarpFill
His story can be found here.

Entrance Antiphon:
This holy man fought to the death for the law of his God
and did not fear the words of the godless,
for he was built on solid rock.

Collect:
God of all creation,
who were pleased to give the bishop Saint Polycarp
a place in the company of the Martyrs,
grant, through his intercession,
that, sharing with him in the chalice of Christ,
we may rise through the Holy Spirit to eternal life.
Through our Lord Jesus Christ, Your Son,
who lives and reigns with You in the unity of the Holy Spirit,
one God, forever and ever. Amen.

Readings:
Revelation 2:8-11 (Remain faithful to death and I will give you the crown of life)
Psalm 31:3-4, 6,8,16,17 “Into Your hands, O Lord, I commend my spirit”
+John 15:18-21 (The world hates you because you do not belong to it, but to Me)

The ones who don’t love Jesus
won’t love me
if I am
who I’m meant to be:
an incarnation
of His Presence
here and now.

I can expect
the world to treat me
much the way
it’s treating Him:
with patronizing pat,
a blasphemy,
a mockery
a blithe dismissal
of “get real”.

But this is only temporary.
It will pass away.
My eyes are fixed
on things above
beyond the grave
where Jesus holds
for me
the crown
of endless life.

Is my life an incarnation of Jesus’ life–does His life take on flesh again in me?
Do I get distracted by it when I’m treated the way Jesus is?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

