Skip to content

Monday, Fourth Week of Advent (O King of the Gentiles)

December 22, 2014

JMJ

Blessed Monday!

O King of the Gentiles
And their desired One
Cornerstone who binds two into one
Come and save man
Whom You fashioned from the slime of the earth

Isaiah 2:4
And he shall judge the Gentiles,
and rebuke many people
(see also Psalm 2:7-8, Ephesians 2:11-13, 20-21, Genesis 2:7)

Entrance Antiphon:
Drop down dew from above, you heavens,
and let the clouds rain down the Just One;
let the earth be opened and bring forth a Savior

Collect:
O God, who, seeing the human race fallen into death,
willed to redeem it by the coming of Your Only Begotten Son,
grant, we pray,
that those who confess His Incarnation with humble fervor
may merit His company as their Redeemer.
Who lives and reigns with You in the unity of the Holy Spirit,
one God, for ever and ever.

Readings:
I Samuel 1:24-28 (as soon as he’s weaned, Hannah brings Samuel to the temple to give him to God)
I Samuel 2:1, 4-8 (Hannah’s song) “My heart rejoices in the Lord, my Savior”
+ Luke 1:46-56 (Mary’s Magnificat)

I glory
in my nothingness.
It is the trait
God uses best
to bring about His will.

I keep no prize
or treasure
for myself.

It’s all for Him.

I’m satisfied
to carry home
the joy.

Do I rejoice in my accomplishments rather than in God, Who accomplished them in me?
Do I treasure Him more than His gifts?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

