Skip to content

Monday, Second Week of Advent (Immaculate Conception)

December 8, 2014

JMJ

Blessed Solemnity!

Entrance Antiphon:
I rejoice heartily in the Lord,
in my God is the joy of my soul;
for He has clothed me with a robe of salvation,
and wrapped me in a mantle of justice,
like a bride adorned with her jewels.

Collect:
O God, who by the Immaculate Conception of the Blessed Virgin
prepared a worthy dwelling for Your Son,
grant, we pray, that, as You preserved her from every stain
by virtue of the Death of Your Son, which You foresaw,
so, through her intercession,
we, too, may be cleansed and admitted to Your presence.
Through our Lord Jesus Christ, Your Son,
who lives and reigns with You in the unity of the Holy Spirit,
one God, for ever and ever.

Readings:
Genesis 3:9-15, 20 (God brings the first sin to light and promises redemption)
Psalm 98:1-4 “Sing to the Lord a new song, for He has done marvelous deeds”
Ephesians 1:3-6, 11-12 (God chose us from the beginning to be holy)
+ Luke 1:26-38 (the Annunciation)

This is the dearest dream of God,
before He set the spheres in space,
that we should dwell before His Face,
unblemished ones,
the chosen sons
who bask in His delight.

When we refused,
He sent His Word…

“Adam, where are you?”
~Genesis 3:9

And the Word became flesh
and dwelt among us.
John 1:14

…His Son,
His self,
down through the ages,
calling us by name.

He knows what He’s about.

God’s dreams are not the empty things
that human dreams can be.
They’re stabilized
by truth and power
and perfect charity.

He formed a maid
Immaculate
according to His plan,
and sent His Word to her
to win
the heart and mind of man.

She made a breach
in Adam’s “no”,
trod humbly
where he dared not go
(for pride),
she opened wide
her life
to God
and His delight.

Behold, I am the handmaid of the Lord.
May it be done to me according to your word
~Luke 1:38

What in my life makes me want to hide from God, like Adam?
What would it take for me to follow Mary through her breach in Adam’s “no”?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. RoseMary permalink
    December 8, 2014 8:55 am

    Are you aware that your reflection mostly rhymes? Did you purposely write a poem, or did it just turn out that way? (Or have you been doing that all along and I just never noticed it before?)

    • December 8, 2014 1:32 pm

      I like to rhyme when I can, but mostly I’m aiming for rhythm (and, of course, content! :). If I have a choice between a word that fits & rhymes vs. one that doesn’t, I’ll take the rhyme.

      Thanks for the comment :).

Leave a Reply

