Skip to content

First Thursday of Passiontide

April 10, 2014

JMJ

Blessed Thursday!

Entrance Antiphon:
Christ is mediator of a New Covenant, so that by means of His death,
those who are called may receive the promise of an eternal inheritance.

Collect:
Be near, O Lord, to those who plead before You,
and look kindly on those who place their hope in Your mercy,
that, cleansed from the stain of their sins,
they may persevere in holy living
and be made full heirs of Your promise.
Through our Lord Jesus Christ, Your Son,
who lives and reigns with You in the unity of the Holy Spirit,
one God, forever and ever. Amen.

Readings:
Genesis 17:3-9 (God establishes His covenant with Abram and changes his name to Abraham)
Psalm 105:4-9 “The Lord remembers His covenant forever”
+John 8:51-59 (Jesus is God; Abraham’s His creature)

God does not forget
His covenant;
it stands
eternally
before Him.

We’re the ones
from whom time robs
the memory.
It slips
like water
through our grasp.
We’re not
I AM.

We need to make
our own again
the promises
to be
completely His.

When was the last time I reflected on the meaning of my Baptismal vows?
Do they shape the way I live?

Baptismal Promises

Priest: Do you renounce Satan?
All: I do.
Priest: And all his works?
All: I do.
Priest: And all his empty show?
All: I do.

(OR:

Priest: Do you renounce sin, so as to live in the freedom of the children of God?
All: I do.
Priest: Do you renounce the lure of evil, so that sin may have no mastery over you?
All: I do.
Priest: Do you renounce Satan, the author and prince of sin?
All: I do.)

Priest: Do you believe in God, the Father almighty, Creator of Heaven and earth?
All: I do.
Priest: Do you believe in Jesus Christ, His only Son, our Lord, who was born of the Virgin Mary, suffered death and was buried, rose again from the dead and is seated at the right hand of the Father?
All: I do.
Priest: Do you believe in the Holy Spirit, the holy Catholic Church, the communion of saints, the resurrection of the body, and life everlasting?
All: I do.
-Roman Missal, Third Edition

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

