Skip to content

Friday, second week of Lent

March 21, 2014

JMJ

Blessed Friday!

Entrance Antiphon:
In You, O Lord, I put my trust, let me never be put to shame;
release me from the snare they have hidden for me, for You indeed are my refuge.

Collect:
Grant, we pray, almighty God,
that, purifying us by the sacred practise of penance,
You may lead us in sincerity of heart
to attain the holy things to come.
Through our Lord Jesus Christ, Your Son,
who lives and reigns with You in the unity of the Holy Spirit,
one God, forever and ever. Amen.

Readings:
Genesis 37:3-4, 12-13, 17-28 (Joseph’s jealous brothers wanted to kill him,
but sold him into slavery instead)
Psalm 105:16-21 “Remember the marvels the Lord has done”
+Matthew 21:33-46 (the murderous tenants of the vineyard will be ousted)

Obedience is dangerous.
We can expect to be abused
by those to whom we’re sent.
It’s only natural
for people to resent
authority
invested in a slave
but God can save
even our enemies
as we rely on Him
and follow through
in faithfulness.

That in itself
will be a great reward.

Am I willing to go when God sends me into painful situations?
Do I trust Him to make it worth my suffering?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

