Skip to content

Thursday, first week of Lent

March 13, 2014

JMJ

Blessed Thursday!

Entrance Antiphon:
To my words give ear, O Lord;
give heed to my sighs.
Attend to the sound of my cry, my King and my God.

Collect:
Bestow on us, we pray, O Lord,
a spirit of always pondering on what is right
and of hastening to carry it out,
and, since we without You we cannot exist,
may we be enabled to live according to Your will.
Through our Lord Jesus Christ, Your Son,
who lives and reigns with You in the unity of the Holy Spirit,
one God, forever and ever. Amen.

Readings:
Esther C 12, 14-16, 23-25 (I have no protector other than You, Lord)
Psalm 138: 1-8 “Lord, on the day I called for help, You answered me”
+Matthew 7:7-12 (God gives good gifts to those who ask)

He calls us wicked,
yet says if we ask,
we will receive!
Who would believe
our God would operate
that way?

He doesn’t give good things
because we’re good
because He owes us anything…
He gives good things
because He’s good
and we’re in need.
We are alone,
and have no help but Him.

And that’s enough.

What grace does God want to give me that I have not dared ask for because I don’t deserve it?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

