Skip to content

First Sunday of Lent

March 9, 2014

JMJ

Blessed “little Easter”!

Just as every Friday is a “little Good Friday”
(which is why we make some sort of sacrifice every Friday),
so every Sunday is a “little Easter”–even during Lent!
So let today be marked with joy–
a little celebration
in anticipation
of the feast that is to come!

Entrance Antiphon:
When He calls Me, I will answer him;
I will deliver him and give him glory,
I will grant him length of days.

Collect:
Grant, almighty God,
through the yearly observance of holy Lent,
that we may grow in understanding
of the riches hidden in Christ
and by worthy conduct pursue their effects.
Through our Lord Jesus Christ, Your Son,
who lives and reigns with You in the unity of the Holy Spirit,
one God, forever and ever. Amen.

Readings:
Genesis 2:7-9; 3:1-7 (the Fall)
Psalm 51:1-4, 12-14, 17 “Be merciful, O Lord, for we have sinned”
Romans 5:12-19 (old Adam versus New Adam)
+Matthew 4:1-11 (Jesus’ temptation in the desert)

It’s not enough
to parrot pious words

if they have not sunk in,
become my own,
if I, like Eve, can toy with them,
cast them aside,
and strike out on my own.

I’ll miss the mark.

I’ve only heard.
I haven’t listened.

The words on which I’m meant to live
–that come forth from the mouth of God–
become as much a part of me
as bread that I digest.
I can’t do otherwise
than what He’s said
and still be me.

It’s always been that way,
and always will.

Am I more concerned about the meals for my body than for my soul?
Has God’s Word (Scripture, Tradition, and the teaching of the Magisterium) become a part of me?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

