Skip to content

Friday after Ash Wednesday (Sts. Perpetua and Felicity)

March 7, 2014

JMJ

Blessed Sts. Perpetua and Felicity’s Day!

You can find their story here.

There’s a prayer that has special significance for Fridays of Lent.
Praying this before a crucifix on a Lenten Friday
(with the usual conditions of Holy Communion the same day,
Sacramental Confession within a week before or after,
prayers for the pope’s intentions–at least an “Our Father” and “Hail Mary”–and no attachment to sin),
makes one eligible for a plenary indulgence (i.e., to have the Church open Her treasury of graces
to pay all the moral (not monetary!) debts you’ve incurred, that you would otherwise pay in Purgatory):

Look down upon me, good and gentle Jesus,
while before Your Face I humbly kneel;
and with burning soul, pray and beseech You to fix deep in my heart
lively sentiments of Faith, Hope and Charity,
true contrition for all my sins and a firm purpose of amendment;
while I contemplate with great love and tender pity Your five wounds,
calling to mind the words which David, Your prophet, said of You, my Jesus:
“They have pierced My hands and My feet, they have numbered all My bones!”
Amen.

Entrance Antiphon:
The souls of the saints are rejoicing in Heaven,
the Saints who followed the footsteps of Christ,
and since for love of Him they shed their blood,
they now exult with Christ for ever.

Collect:
O God, at the urging of whose love
the Martyrs Saints Perpetua and Felicity
defied their persecutors and overcame the torment of death,
grant, we ask, by their prayers, that we may ever grow in Your love.
Through our Lord Jesus Christ, Your Son,
who lives and reigns with You in the unity of the Holy Spirit,
one God, forever and ever. Amen.

Readings:
Romans 8:31-39 (When God is over us, no one can put us down)
Psalm 124:2-5, 7-8 “Our help is in the Name of the Lord”
+Matthew 10:34-39 (whoever puts fondness for family over Me is not worthy of Me)

When I prefer
my fondness
for my family or friends,
I give them precedence to God;
they take His place,
a place they’re never meant to fill.

When father pleads
and infant weeps
(the cries and tears that rent
Perpetua’s heart),
they cast me down to hell,
the waves and breakers
closing over me
forevermore.

When God is over me,
there is no power in Heaven,
on earth,
or under earth,
can throw me down,
take me away
from Him;
or snatch me
from His Love.

Though father plead
or infant weep
(the cries and tears that rent
Perpetua’s heart),
the snare will break.
I will escape,
as bird from fowler’s net,
and soar into the heavens
gloriously.

The only danger, then,
is from myself.

When God’s desires come into conflict with the desires of my dear ones, do I let God win?

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 7, 2014 1:44 am

    Good friday..great blog./

Leave a Reply

