Skip to content

Friday, first week of Advent

December 6, 2013

JMJ


Blessed St. Nicholas’ Day!


St. Nicholas Calming the Tempest

You can read his story here:

Entrance Antiphon:
This is the steward, faithful and prudent,
whom the Lord set over His household
to give then their allowance of food at the proper time

Collect:

We humbly implore Your mercy, Lord:
protect us in all dangers
through the prayers of the Bishop Saint Nicholas,
that the way of salvation may lie open before us
Through our Lord Jesus Christ, Your Son,
who lives and reigns with You in the unity of the Holy Spirit,
one God, for ever and ever.

Readings:
Isaiah 6: 1-8 (Whom shall I send? Here I am, send me)
Psalm 40:2,4,7-10 “Here I am, Lord; I come to do Your will”
+ Luke 10:1-9 (The harvest is abundant but laborers are few)

The harvest is abundant
but laborers are few
~Luke 10:2

Whom shall I send?
Who will go for us?
~Isaiah 6:8

Who will go
despite unworthiness

Woe is me, I am doomed!
For I am a man of unclean lips,
living among a people of unclean lips
~Isaiah 6:9

allowing God to use their lips
to speak His holy word?

Who will go
despite the hardships,
leaving bag and purse behind,
to brave the wolves,
to cure the sick,
and to announce
the reign of God?

Who will echo Jesus’ words?

Behold,
I come to do Your will
~Hebrews 10:9

What burning coal is God holding to my lips to purify me?
To whom is God sending me today?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

