Skip to content

Tuesday, first week of Advent

December 3, 2013

JMJ

Blessed St. Francis Xavier’s Day!

You can find his story here.

Entrance Antiphon:
I will praise You, Lord, among the nations;
I will tell of Your Name to my kin

Collect:
O God, Who through the preaching of St. Francis Xavier
won many peoples to Yourself,
grant that the hearts of the faithful
may burn with the same zeal for the faith
and that Holy Church may everywhere rejoice
in an abundance of offspring.
Through our Lord Jesus Christ Your Son
Who lives and reigns with You in the unity of the Holy Spirit,
one God, for ever and ever.

Readings specific to St. Francis Xavier:
I Corinthians 9:16-19, 22-23 (Woe to me if I do not preach the Gospel)
Psalm 117:1bc, 2 “Go out to all the world and tell the Good News”
+Mark 16:15-20 (The Great Commission)

Whoever believes and is baptized will be saved;
whoever does not believe will be condemned
~Mark 16:16

The stakes are high
–you’re saved or damned–
no middle ground.
I am compelled
to spread the Word…

The love of Christ compels us
~2 Corinthians 5:14

…eschewing gain in this world,
for the next.

For what shall it profit a man
if he should gain the whole cosmos,
and lose his soul?
~Mark 8:36

My recompense
is to be free
from bondage
to my own desires,
unhampered by
what I could claim “by rights”
to meet each person
where they are;
to win their heart,
no strings attached.

This is my gain;
this is the way
that I become
the saint I want to be
surrounded by
good company.

At my deepest core, do I want to be the sort of person who’s held back by my own desires or do I want to be free to sacrifice for the sake of the good?
Who in my life most needs to hear the Good News of salvation?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

