Skip to content

Saturday, fourth week of Lent

March 16, 2013

JMJ

Blessed Saturday!

Entrance Antiphon:
The waves of death rose about me; the pains of the netherworld surrounded me.
In my anguish I called to the Lord, and from His holy temple He heard my voice.

Collect:
May the working of Your mercy, O Lord, we pray,
direct our hearts aright,
for without Your grace
we cannot find favor in Your sight.
Through our Lord Jesus Christ, Your Son,
who lives and reigns with You in the unity of the Holy Spirit,
one God, forever and ever. Amen.

Readings:
Jeremiah 11:18-20 (I am like a trusting lamb led to slaughter)
Psalm 7:2-12 “Lord, my God, I take shelter in you”
+John 7:40-53 (the people are divided over Jesus, but nobody arrests Him)

When we trust
in ourselves
we miss the mark:

Have you also been deceived?
Have any of the authorities or the Pharisees believed in Him?
But this crowd, which does not know the law, is accursed…
You are not from Galilee also, are you?
Look and see that no prophet arises from Galilee.
~John 7:47-49, 52

The taunters had themselves
been badly fooled.

They didn’t know
one of their own
had gone to Him by night.

Rabbi, we know You are a teacher come from God,
for no man can perform signs and wonders
such as You perform
unless God is with him
~John 3:2

Nor had they read

He shall be called a Nazarene
~Matthew 2:23

(Nazareth is in Galilee)
or known
that He was born
in Bethlehem.

Their pride betrayed them
to their enemy.

But when we trust in God
we stand secure.

I knew their plot because the Lord informed me…
I…had not realized that they were hatching plots against me.
~Jeremiah 11:18, 19

What we can’t know–
He does.
He gives us the advantage of His Mind!
when we believe.

But You, O Lord of hosts,
O Just Judge,
searcher of mind and heart…
to You I have entrusted my cause.
~Jeremiah 11:20

There is no foe
He cannot overcome.

Death is swallowed up in victory
-I Corinthians 15:54

Though He slay me,
yet will I trust Him
~Job 13:15

In whom (or what) do you place your confidence?
Will it hold up?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

