Skip to content

Third Sunday of Lent

March 3, 2013

JMJ

Blessed little Easter!

Entrance Antiphon:
My eyes are always on the lord, for He rescues my feet from the snare.
Turn to me and have mercy on me, for I am alone and poor.

Collect:
O God, author of every mercy and of all goodness,
who in fasting, prayer and almsgiving
have shown us a remedy for sin,
look graciously on this confession of our lowliness,
that we, who are bowed down by our conscience,
may always be lifted up by Your mercy.
Through our Lord Jesus Christ, Your Son,
who lives and reigns with You in the unity of the Holy Spirit,
one God, forever and ever. Amen.

Readings:
Exodus 3:1-8, 13-15 (Moses & the burning bush)
Psalm 103: 1-11 “The Lord is kind and merciful”
I Corinthians 10:1-6, 10-12 (beware complacency)
+Luke 13:1-9 (God will fertilize us, but if we don’t fruitfully repent, we’ll be cut down)

I’m meant to be a bush afire
but not destroyed,

a beacon bright and radiant
with holiness
through whom God speaks
to rouse a captive world
to cast off chains
of sin,
to struggle free.

God has big plans for me!

I dare not settle for the daily grind
of dull complaint
at fertilizer spread around my feet.
God sends me trials
as fuel
for flames of love
not tinder for concupiscence.
I will give an account
of fruitfulness
or be cut down.

Do you use trials as fuel for personal, spiritual growth?
Does God shine through you to inspire those around you to holiness?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

