Skip to content

Wednesday, second week of Lent

February 27, 2013

JMJ

Blessed Wednesday!

Entrance Antiphon:
Forsake me not, O Lord! My God, be not far from me!
Make haste and come to my help, O Lord, my strong salvation!

Collect:
Keep Your family, O Lord,
schooled always in good works,
and so comfort them with Your protection here
as to lead them graciously to gifts on high.
Through our Lord Jesus Christ, Your Son,
who lives and reigns with You in the unity of the Holy Spirit,
one God, forever and ever. Amen.

Readings:
Jeremiah 18:18-20 (Jeremiah has prayed for his persecutors)
Psalm 31:5-6, 14-16 “Save me, O Lord, in Your steadfast love”
+Matthew 20:17-28 (the Son of Man did not come to be served but to serve)

The crown is won by sacrifice.

The chalice is a bitter one
of loving the ungrateful,
standing up for your betrayers,
who still stab you in the back.

That’s what Jesus came to do.

It’s the greatness
we’re called to.

God does the rest.

Into Your hands I commend my spirit;
You will redeem me, O Lord, O faithful God.
~Psalm 31:6

Who have you avoided ministering to because of their hostility or ingratitude?
Ask the Holy Spirit to help you learn to wield the gift of Fortitude.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

