Skip to content

First Sunday of Lent

February 17, 2013

JMJ


Blessed “little Easter”!

Every Sunday is a miniature celebration of Jesus’ resurrection–even during Lent!
That’s why they’re not counted as part of Lent
(so if there’s an innocent sacrifice you’re making for Lent
–as opposed to giving up sin!–
you can take a breather today in celebration of Jesus’ resurrection).

Entrance Antiphon:
When He calls Me, I will answer him;
I will deliver him and give him glory,
I will grant him length of days.

Collect:
Grant, almighty God,
through the yearly observance of holy Lent,
that we may grow in understanding
of the riches hidden in Christ
and by worthy conduct pursue their effects.
Through our Lord Jesus Christ, Your Son,
who lives and reigns with You in the unity of the Holy Spirit,
one God, forever and ever. Amen.

Readings:
Deuteronomy 26:4-10 (bring God the first fruits of your harvest to acknowledge what He’s done for you)
Psalm 91:1-2, 10-15 “Be with me, Lord, when I am in trouble”
Romans 10:8-13 (faith in Jesus leads to salvation)
+Luke 4:1-13 (Jesus’ temptation in the wilderness)

Salvation comes
from filling your mouth with God’s Word.

I am not my own (1 Corinthians 6:19).
Neither are my words.
They come from God.
He’s told me who I am
(and He should know!):
a wanderer,
a wretched slave
set free by the power of God
brought into a land
flowing with milk and honey.

I’m His now.
He is my Lord.
Therein lies my identity.
Therein lies my salvation.

If you confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord
and believe in your heart that God raised Him from the dead,
you will be saved.
-Romans 10:9

Jesus led the way…
When His identity was challenged
He used the Word
to counter the attack.

“It is written…”
and…the devil withdrew from him.
-Luke 4:4, 13

It’s not enough to know it.
We must speak it,
fill our mouths
with holy Truth.

And yes,
this is the Eucharist!*

Open wide your mouth
and I will fill it
-Psalm 81:11

Do you know God’s Word–Scripture? Jesus?
Is that where you find your identity?
Does it/He fill your mouth?

*Jesus is the Word of God (John 1:1) and He is the Eucharist.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

