Skip to content

Friday, Third week of Advent (O Rising Dawn)

December 21, 2012

Blessed St. Peter Canisius’ Day!
(and Ember Friday)

St. Peter Canisius

You can find his story here.

ODawn

O Rising Dawn,
Splendor of eternal light
And Sun of justice
Come to give light to those sitting in darkness
And in the shadow of death

Revelation 22:16:
“I, Jesus, have sent My angel to testify to you these things concerning the churches.
I am the root and the offspring of David, the bright morning star.”
(see also Isaiah 9:1, John 8:12 & 12:46, Psalm 19:6-7)

Entrance Antiphon:
The Lord and Ruler will be coming soon,
and His Name will be called Emmanuel,
because He will be God-with-us.

Collect:
Hear in kindness, O Lord,
the prayers of Your people,
that those who rejoice
at the coming of Your Only Begotten Son in our flesh
may, when at last He comes in glory,
gain the reward of eternal life.
Through our Lord Jesus Christ, Your Son,
who lives and reigns with You in the unity of the Holy Spirit,
one God, for ever and ever.

Readings:
Song of Songs: 2:8-14 (Hark! my Beloved comes, springing across the mountains)
or Zephaniah 3:14-18 (The King of Israel, the Lord, is in your midst.)
Psalm 33:2-3, 11-12, 20-21 “Exult, you just, in the Lord! Sing to Him a new song”
+ Luke 1:39-45 (And how does this happen to me,
that the mother of my Lord should come to me?)

Our rising dawn rejoices…

the sun comes forth
like the groom from his bridal chamber,
and, like a champion, rejoices to run his course
-Psalm 19:5-6

He will rejoice over you with gladness…
He will sing joyfully because of you,
as one sings at festivals
-Zephaniah 3:17

…making haste to come to us
-a Bridegroom racing to His bride-
He simply can’t contain Himself!

Hark! my lover–here he comes
springing across the mountains,
leaping across the hills
-Song of Songs 2:8

Rising, Mary, in those days,
went with haste
into the hill country of Judah.
-Luke 1:39 (emphasis added)

(our Lover traveling in her womb)

He seeks an answering cry of love
a leap of joy
from you,
His bride.

Arise, my beloved, my beautiful one, and come!
-Song of Songs 2:13

Shout for joy…!
Rejoice and exult with all your heart…!
-Zephaniah 3:14

There’s precedent:

The moment your greeting sounded in my ears,
the baby leapt in my womb for joy
-Luke 1:44

my spirit rejoices in God my savior
-Luke 1:47

What have you got to lose?

12-18-94

Watching and waiting
half in dread
half in hope
my heart heavy within me
I seek a bringer of mercy
for I am another Eve, another Adam
awaiting my Redeemer

Watching and waiting
my eyes scan the horizon
vigilant for the first rays of Presence
the scent of a coming
for I am a watchman
impatient for the rising of the Morning Star

Watching and waiting
I keep my lamp trimmed
and ready
Though my eyes are heavy
and I am weary
I am eager
for I am a bridesmaid
keeping vigil for the coming Groom

Watching and waiting
ruing the slow passage of time
hungering for a touch, a look, a word
my heart swells with love
ready to burst in torrents over Him
for I am a bride
longing for my Beloved

And He is coming!

I hear footsteps
I see the breaking of light in darkness
I see arms outstretched
and I am a child
bursting through the door
and flying across the ground
My Savior
The Morning Star
The Groom
My Beloved
envelopes me
and there is nothing left
but love

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

