Skip to content

Saturday, Second Week of Advent

December 15, 2012

Blessed Saturday!

Entrance Antiphon:
Come and show us Your Face, O Lord,
Who are seated upon the Cherubim,
and we will be saved.

Collect:
May the splendor of Your glory dawn in our hearts,
we pray, almighty God,
that all shadows of the night may be scattered
and we may be shown to be children of light
by the advent of Your Only Begotten Son.
Who lives and reigns with You in the unity of the Holy Spirit,
one God, for ever and ever.

Readings:
Sirach 48:1-4, 9-11 (the glory of Elijah)
Psalm 80:2-3, 15-16, 18-19 “Lord, make us turn to You,
let us see Your Face and we shall be saved”
+ Matthew 17:10-13 (Elijah has already come, and they did not recognize him)

Who is the John the Baptist
in my life?

…the one who gets under my skin
brings out my faults
calls down
the whirlwind
to burn my soul.

I owe him thanks
I’m loathe to give ~
he makes me so uncomfortable!
It’s hard to hear
I’m not the gem
I want to be.

I didn’t know
salvation
hurt so much.
In contact with my sin
God’s fire burns.

O how I long
to just lash out
and make it stop!

(That makes it worse
as Herod and his kin found out
when they took off
the Baptist’s head–
they didn’t end so well).

But there’s a secret to the fire
(as Daniel’s friends can testify)
that brings an angel down
with cooling dew.
Offer yourself
in sacrifice.
Lift up your heart to God
and sing His praise.
(see Daniel 3, Catholic version)

It takes a conscious choice,
an act of faith,
but it’s SO worth the effort
when His Face beams down on you!

Let Your Face shine on us
and we shall be saved
-Psalm 80:4

He comes to join you
in the fire,
to share the walk with you!

Did we not cast three men bound into the fire?…
But I see four men unfettered and unhurt, walking in the fire,
and the fourth looks like a son of God
-Daniel 3:91-92

You will emerge
more radiant than gold
(see I Peter 1:7),
and wow the one
who tossed you in.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

