Skip to content

First Thursday of Passiontide

March 29, 2012

JMJ

Blessed Thursday!

Be near, O Lord, to those who plead before You,
and look kindly on those who place their hope in Your mercy,
that, cleansed from the stain of their sins,
they may persevere in holy living
and be made full heirs of Your promise.
Through our Lord Jesus Christ, Your Son,
who lives and reigns with You in the unity of the Holy Spirit,
one God, forever and ever. Amen.
(Opening Prayer for today’s Mass)

Readings:
Genesis 17:3-9 (God establishes His covenant with Abram and changes his name to Abraham)
Psalm 105:4-9 “The Lord remembers His covenant forever”
+John 8:51-59 (Jesus is God; Abraham’s His creature)

I know Him
-John 8:55

And I speak for Him.
I AM His Word!
I spoke to Abraham
and he rejoiced,
embraced My covenant,
saw many promises
fulfilled.

Time is no obstacle to Me.
I AM eternal.

If you but listen,
heed My voice
(make time for prayer!),
and seek to serve Me
constantly,
you’ll see much more,
avoiding death,
embracing life
abundantly,
eternally.

My judgments will prevail.
Nor will My glory fail.
And you will share in it…
if you but keep
My covenant.

Can you say of God, “I know Him!”?
Do you seek to serve Him constantly?
Do you know what’s involved in keeping His covenant?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

