Skip to content

First Tuesday of Passiontide

March 27, 2012

JMJ

Blessed Tuesday!

Grant us, we pray, O Lord,
perseverance in obeying Your will,
that in our days the people dedicated to Your service
may grow in both merit and number.
Through our Lord Jesus Christ, Your Son,
who lives and reigns with You in the unity of the Holy Spirit,
one God, forever and ever. Amen.
(Opening Prayer for today’s Mass)

Readings:
Numbers 21:4-9 (the bronze serpent)
Psalm 102:2-3, 16-21 “O Lord, hear my prayer, and let my cry come to You”
+John 8:21-30 (we must believe in Jesus to be saved)

God didn’t take the snakes away!

They were a blessing in disguise.
Sin manifest to mortal eyes
that they might dread it,
realize
they needed to look up
to God
not back to Egypt
as they’d done
so many times before.

The snakes remained;
the remedy
was hoisted high upon a tree
that all who looked might live.

whenever anyone who had been bitten by a serpent
looked at the bronze serpent, he lived
-Numbers 21:9

Reminded of their deadly past,
amid the snakes,
their grumbling ceased.
They reached the Promised Land
at last.

God gives us snakes
to bare our pride,
to lay us low that we may raise
our eyes to Him upon the tree
our sovereign hope of remedy
(and not complain or reminisce
on comforts found in sin).

You will surely die in your sins
unless you come to believe that I AM
-John 8:24

Just as Moses lifted up the serpent in the desert,
so must the Son of Man be lifted up
that all who believe might have life in Him.
-John 3:14-15

When you lift up the Son of Man,
you will come to realize that I AM
-John 8:28

Our brazen serpent
is the crucifix.

What are the “serpents” that God uses to regularly remind you that you’re not self-sufficient?
Have you ever thanked Him for them?
Do you allow them to discourage you or do you confidently lift your eyes to Jesus for healing (especially in sacramental Confession)?

Act of Hope
an adapted combination of the “Act of Hope”
from the Augustinian Manual & the Small Roman Missal

Since You graciously deign to come and dwell within me,
O my Redeemer,
what may I not expect from Your bounty?
I therefore present myself before You
with that lively confidence which Your infinite goodness inspires.
You not only know all my wants,
but are also willing and able to relieve them.
You have not only invited me,
but also promised me Your gracious assistance:
“Come to me, all you that labor and are heavy burdened,
and I will refresh you.” (Matthew 11:28)
Behold, then, O Lord, I accept Your gracious invitation:
I lay before You all my wants, my misery, and my blindness,
and confidently hope, without the fear of being disappointed,
that You will enlighten my understanding, inflame my will,
comfort me in the midst of such crosses or afflictions
as You have appointed I should suffer,
strengthen me in all temptations and trials,
enable me to persevere, unto the end of my life, in Your service,
and, in fine, with the powerful assistance of Your grace,
change me into a new creature;
for are not You, O God, the master of my heart?
and when shall my heart be more absolutely disposed of by You
than when You shall have once entered into it?
“In You, O Lord, have I hoped;
I shall not be confounded forever.”
(Psalm 30:2, Douay-Rheims; Psalm 31:2, modern)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

