Skip to content

Saturday, third week of Lent

March 17, 2012

JMJ

Blessed St. Patrick’s Day!

You can read his story here.

Rejoicing in this annual celebration
of our Lenten observance,
we pray, O Lord,
that, with our hearts set on the paschal mysteries,
we may be gladdened by their full effects.
Through our Lord Jesus Christ, Your Son,
who lives and reigns with You in the unity of the Holy Spirit,
one God, forever and ever. Amen.
(Opening Prayer for today’s Mass)

Readings:
Hosea 6:1-6 (God wants changed lives, not bribes)
Psalm 51:3-4, 18-21 “It is steadfast love, not sacrifice, that God desires”
+Luke 18:9-14 (the proud Pharisee vs. the humble tax collector)

Am I my own god?!

Do I pray to myself,
proud Pharisee,
praising myself
not God?

Is worship all about me
my wants,
my deeds…
my foolishness!

I’ll handle this,
don’t worry, God.
Your stamp of approval, please.

God groans:

What can I do with you, Ephraim?
What can I do with you, Judah?
Your piety is like a morning cloud,
like the dew that early passes away
-Hosea 6:4

This is the lot of those who trust in themselves,
who have others in their beck and call….
With the morning their outward show vanishes
and the grave becomes their home.
-Psalm 49:14-15

God looks away.
The tax collector prays:

O God, be merciful to me, a sinner
-Luke 18:13

God’s Face lights up!

Now that’s a prayer!
He justifies.
The sinner shines,
God’s glory on his face.

Look to Him that you may be radiant with joy,
and your faces not blush with shame
-Psalm 34:6

Who is the focus of your prayer–God, or yourself?
Is your confidence in God or in yourself?
If God were to look beneath the surface of your religion, would there be anything to see?
How could you adapt your prayer life to make God’s Face light up?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

