Skip to content

Tuesday, first week of Lent

March 11, 2003

Readings:
Isaiah 55:10-11
Psalm 34:4-19 (From all their afflictions God will deliver the just)
Matthew 6:7-15

“For just as from the heavens the rain and snow come down
And do not return there till they have watered the earth,
making it fertile and fruitful,
Giving seed to him who sows and bread to him who eats,
So shall My word be that goes forth from My mouth;
It shall not return to Me void, but shall do My will,
achieving the end for which I sent it.”

His word shall not return void, but shall achieve the end for which He sent it. It’s been exciting to hear reports that His word, going forth in these posts is achieving the end for which He sent it :). Glory be to the One who keeps His promises! I’ve been stepping back in wonder as He’s let me be a part of what He’s doing. I can’t take credit for any of this. It’s His word. I just want to be available and to not get in His way.
***********************
2-11-95

Pour from my pen
Oh Lord
Your words of love
Open my heart
to Your leanings
to Your loves
Clear the way
let no impediment mar
the beauty of You
in me
May I take the time
the thought
the risk
of being Your instrument
************************
How is He calling you to be His instrument? To be a channel through which He can convey His word? Whether you ever see results or not, His word will achieve the end for which He sent it.

“Glorify the Lord with me, let us together extol His name.
I sought the Lord, and he answered me and delivered me from all my fears.
Look to Him that you may be radiant with joy,
and your faces may not blush with shame.” (Psalm 34:4-6)

Another of my favorite verses :). Look to Him. Stand in awe of Him. Let yourself be lost in praise and adoration before His lovely Face, that you may be radiant with joy! Let your face shine with joy even as Moses’ face did after he’d spent time with God. Saint Clare of Assisi (St. Francis of Assisi & St. Clare of Assisi go together–she caught St. Francis’ vision and started an order of nuns who lived by St. Francis’ ideals) puts it better that I in her second letter to Blessed Agnes of Prague:
***********************
” Place your mind before the mirror of eternity!
Place your soul before the brilliance of glory!
Place your heart in the figure of the divine substance!
And transform your entire being into the image of the Godhead Itself through
contemplation.

“So that you too may feel what His friends feel
as they taste the hidden sweetness
that God Himself has reserved from the beginning
for those who love Him.

“And, after all who ensnare their blind lovers
in a deceitful and turbulent world
have been completely sent away,
you may totally love Him
Who gave Himself totally for your love.”
***************************

Radiance!

Joy!

In the Gospel, Jesus tells us not to rattle on like the pagans, then teaches us the “Our Father’. Perhaps another way of phrasing His point would be to say: “Don’t talk at Me, connect with Me! I don’t need information from you–I have that already. What I want is a relationship with you, and relationships are only built through communication. So talk to me. Listen to Me. Get to know Me for who I really am (and be prepared to set aside some major misconceptions about Me!). I am your Father, protecting, loving, correcting, providing. I am holy, absolutely pure and righteous, and nothing, no one, that is the slightest bit impure or unrighteous can survive being in My Presence. Think about the implications of that. I have a Kingdom coming that will make this beautiful world pale by comparison, but I’m asking for your cooperation in bringing it to fulfillment because I value your free will too much to force anything on you. I want you to train your desires so that you want My Kingdom, which you cannot see, more than you want the things of this world, which you can see. I’m the source of everything you have or ever will have, including the forgiveness which is your only hope of a relationship with Me, but I expect you to give to others as freely as I give to you. I will help you overcome temptation if you ask Me, and I am your only Source of deliverance from the Evil One.”

May the time you spend in prayer today deepen your intimacy with the Lord of the Universe and leave you radiant with joy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

